Previous Deputy Chiefs of Navy

The following list chronologically records those who have held the post of Deputy Chief of Navy.

List of Previous Deputy Chiefs of Navy

VADM Michael Noonan
(2016 - 2018)

Vice Admiral Michael Joseph Noonan

Vice Admiral Michael Noonan, AO, RAN joined the Royal Australian Navy in 1984, trained as a seaman officer and then subsequently completed Principal Warfare Officers course and specialised in Air...

Rear Admiral Michael van Balen
(2013 - 2016)

Rear Admiral Michael Julian van Balen

Michael van Balen was born in Brisbane, QLD on 16 February 1961 and joined the RAN as a Junior Entry Cadet Midshipman in 1978. After graduating from the Royal Australian Naval College in 1982, he...

RADM Trevor Jones Portrait
(2011 - 2013)

Rear Admiral Trevor Jones

Trevor Jones joined the Royal Australian Navy in January 1978 under the Navy scholarship scheme to pursue a career as a seaman officer. After graduating from the University of New South Wales with a...

RADM Davyd Thomas
(2008 - 2011)

Rear Admiral Davyd Rhys Thomas

Davyd Rhys Thomas was born and raised in Newcastle and joined the Navy in 1974. A graduate of the RAN College he served as a Seaman Officer in a wide variety of platforms, including patrol boats,...

VADM Russ Crane
(2006 - 2008)

Vice Admiral Russell Harry Crane

Russell Harry 'Russ' Crane was born in Southport, Queensland on 11 June 1954 and began his naval career as a Junior Recruit at HMAS Leeuwin in 1970, training as an Electrical Mechanic in aircraft...