Frigate Helicopter (FFH)

The Royal Australian Navy currently uses the Anzac Class FFH.

The Anzac Class is based on the German Meko 200 frigate design with eight ships being constructed in Australia as part of the overall plan to upgrade the Royal Australian Navy.

Anzacs are long-range escorts with roles including air defence, anti submarine warfare, surveillance, reconnaissance and interdiction. The ships are capable of countering simultaneous threats from the air, surface and sub-surface. Powered by a combined diesel or gas (CODOG) propulsion plant permits speeds in excess of 27 knots with an operational range of more than 6000 nautical miles.

Each Anzac frigate is fitted with an advanced package of air surveillance radars, omni-directional hull mounted sonar and electronic support systems which interface with a state-of-the-art combat data system.

The ships' main armament comprises one five inch (127 mm) gun capable of firing 20 rounds per minute, ship launched torpedo and a MK 41 vertical launch system for the Sea Sparrow point defence missile.

The Anzac Class can embark a multi-role Sikorsky S-70B-2 Seahawk helicopter to enhance anti-submarine, anti-surface warfare and Search and Rescue capabilities. Embarkation of a helicopter also provides the ship with the capability to deliver air-launched torpedoes.

Following is a list of Frigates Helicopter currently commissioned into the Royal Australian Navy.

Name Pennant Commissioned Commanding Officer
HMAS Anzac (III) FFH 150 18 May 1996 Commander Michael Devine
HMAS Arunta (II) FFH 151 12 December 1998 Commander Cameron Steil
HMAS Ballarat (II) FFH 155 26 June 2004
HMAS Parramatta (IV) FFH 154 4 October 2003 Commander Simon Howard
HMAS Perth (III) FFH 157 26 August 2006
HMAS Stuart (III) FFH 153 17 August 2002 Commander Chris Leece
HMAS Toowoomba (II) FFH 156 10 October 2005 Commander Stuart Watters
HMAS Warramunga (II) FFH 152 31 March 2001 Commander Dugald Clelland