IONS Membership Finalised

It has been 12 months since the Conclave of Chiefs met in Australia on 28 March 2014. In accordance with the Charter of Business, nations have had the last 12 months to confirm their membership of IONS. The IONS Secretariat advises that IONS membership includes 22 nations and 4 observers:


Australia, Bangladesh, France, India, Indonesia, Iran, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.


China, Japan, Madagascar and Malaysia.

The breadth of nations is considered a sound representation of Indian Ocean rim maritime agencies, and is a solid reflection on the combined commitment to the forum.