Fleet Air Arm

Fleet Air Arm Badge

The Fleet Air Arm, formerly known as the Australian Navy Aviation Group, is one of the Forces within Fleet Command. It brings together all the key elements which provide the RAN with its aviation force and provides the Naval Aviation capabilities required to fight and win at sea, and to contribute to military support operations. The Forces' focus is on mission effectiveness, reliability, sustainability and safety. The group Headquarters is located at HMAS Albatross.

Commander Fleet Air Arm (COMFAA): Commodore Matthew Royals

The Fleet Air Arm's responsibilities are to the Chief of Navy for the whole of life, whole of capability management of Naval Aviation, and to the Commander Australian Fleet for delivering aviation capability.

HMAS Albatross operates the Naval Air Station which is integral to the development and operation of Naval Aviation. The collocation of the Navy Aviation Systems Program Office and the Training Authority - Aviation at Nowra has greatly improved the focus and delivery of Naval Aviation.


Squadron Aircraft Commanding Officer
723 Squadron EC-135T2+ Liutenant Colonel Patrick Shadel
725 Squadron MH-60R Seahawk Commander Raymond McErlean
808 Squadron MH-60R Seahawk Commander Christopher Smith
816 Squadron MH-60R Seahawk Commander Nigel Rowan