Admiral Nelson Sword of Excellence

The Admiral Nelson Sword of Excellence, named for Royal Navy Vice Admiral Horatio Nelson, is an annual award presented to an officer of the Royal Australian Navy (RAN) who has consistently displayed a high degree of leadership. 

The Admiral Nelson Sword of Excellence (officially called the Vice Admiral Viscount Nelson KB Trafalgar Bicentennial Sword of Excellence) is held at HMAS Stirling in Western Australia. Recipients of the Admiral Nelson Sword of Excellence wear a Chief of Navy Gold Commendation badge in recognition of the award.

The award was initially proposed by the Nelson Society of Australia in 2005 for presentation to RAN warfare officers based in Western Australia. Vice Admiral Chris Ritchie RAN approved the proposal on the condition that eligibility would include all RAN officers. 

The sword was reportedly one of the last ever made by famous sword manufacturer Wilkinsons. Dedicated at the Nelson Society of Australia‚Äôs Trafalgar Day Bicentenary Commemorative Service on Sunday 23 October 2005, the sword was received by Commodore Richard Shalders RAN on behalf of the Navy. 

The first presentation of the sword took place on Thursday 19 October 2006 in a ceremony at HMAS Stirling. The first recipient was Commander Justin Jones.